RSS

‘I had a dream’

17 Feb

“Fantasy is silver and scarlet, indigo and azure, obsidian veined with gold and lapis lazuli. Reality is plywood and plastic, done up in mud brown and olive drab. Fantasy tastes of habaneros and honey, cinnamon and cloves, rare red meat and wines as sweet as summer. Reality is beans and tofu, and ashes at the end. Reality is the strip malls of Burbank, the smokestacks of Cleveland, a parking garage in Newark. Fantasy is the towers of Minas Tirith, the ancient stones of Gormenghast, the halls of Camelot. Fantasy flies on the wings of Icarus, reality on Southwest Airlines. Why do our dreams become so much smaller when they finally come true?

We read fantasy to find the colors again, I think. To taste strong spices and hear the songs the sirens sang. There is something old and true in fantasy that speaks to something deep within us, to the child who dreamt that one day he would hunt the forests of the night, and feast beneath the hollow hills, and find a love to last forever somewhere south of Oz and north of Shangri-La.

They can keep their heaven. When I die, I’d sooner go to middle Earth.”

― George R.R. Martin

I used to believe in this statement. Not any more.
(The first part, I mean. I am a die-hard crusader for fantasy fiction. Period.)

The last three months have been quite eventful for me. I discovered that I am ending up doing things I had never imagined myself doing ever. I have stumbled upon Joycean epiphanies in unexpected corners, which have both made and marred my joy. Mostly, I have been happy, and hence, I am not complaining.

From fabulously spun yarns to pretty castles in the air, from whispers that I chanced to hear to the seeming matters of consequence that I was prodded about, I conclude that grown-ups are an amusing species.

And that reality and fiction are too close to be separated. I had no doubts about it, but this time what I experienced was too direct. I did not expect that things can be so similar. That reality can turn out to be so fantastic and fiction so real.

Do dreams really become smaller? If taken literally, yes. But what about the joy that comes with it? Isn’t it the philosopher’s stone that changes the drab colours of reality into gold and azure?  Is it the length of the shadow that falls between the idea and the reality that makes the dreams smaller? But that’s for hollow men, who perhaps have a wrong vision. When the sun is at its peak, the shadow disappears. The elation itself turns the dreary parking garage into the ancient ruins of a vanquished fortress. Glimmers of fantasy are already entwined in reality.

Sadly, the reverse is true as well. The wings did melt. And Icarus fell.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2014 in Life and Times, Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “‘I had a dream’

  1. Sriranjani Datta

    March 12, 2014 at 7:51 am

    Sayantika Di,

    Firstly a hearty congratulations. Sir told me about the good news and your success. I will visit you someday soon (Sir promised me to take me to your place), as I have a budding hope down somewhere to get through CSAT as well. I plan to take the exams after I am done with my MA. So you can may be help me a bit by guiding me and give me some much wanted motivation.

    Now about reality and fiction. Yes sometimes the line between the two disappears and we cannot differentiate between the two. You know sometimes we have those vivid dreams, and when we wake up we are left wondering if it had actually happened, or was I just dreaming? Sometimes it makes us yearn and long for that dream to be reality. the sense of “If Only”.

    For me the most confusing moments between dreams and reality is when I am having a Deja Vu moment. You know that feeling when you can’t some to terms if the thing you are going through, really had happened before or are you just imagining it.

    Over all, I would always like to keep dreams and reality separate. I think it helps me to be a romantic and a practical person at t he same time. I know when to snap out of the dreams and fictions and start working towards what I really want and what is real.

    That is all for now. Do visit my blog if and when you have some time. 🙂

    Regards,

    Sriranjani

     
    • Sayantika

      March 12, 2014 at 12:14 pm

      Dear Sriranjani,

      Thank you. You are always welcome to visit me. I shall be glad to help you out.
      It’s best to keep reality and fiction separate, I agree. This post is actually about some delightful happenings which I had never expected. I hadn’t imagined that fiction could come true. I can’t elaborate much, as they are too personal. I guess I shouldn’t have posted this on the blog
      A cousin of mine even told me that ones who do not know what happened would think that I was high on weed before posting this. 😛
      And now I do not have the heart to remove this post, so I had let it be. 🙂
      I have read some your blog posts and I like the way you write, but I was too lazy to comment. I am ashamed to admit that I have been too lazy these days, I haven’t even commented on Sir’s blog for a long time, nor have I written blog posts for mine.

      With love,
      Sayantika di.

       
  2. Sriranjani Datta

    March 12, 2014 at 7:53 am

    This is just to tell you that I had a blog in wordpress because I had to make it during my journalism course. However that is not the blog I maintain now. you will find my blog in Sir’s blog roll, by my name. This one is just a personal message so you need not publish this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
