RSS

An attempt at poetry

06 Oct

I consider myself a very prosaic person and although I enjoy reading poetry, I do not think I can ever write one. But then there is Polo. She is attending a creative writing workshop and intends me to slog as well. She insisted that I write spontaneously whatever I can after reading Leda and the Swan by William Butler Yeats. Since I had read the poem before, I do not know how much spontaneous this one is, but I managed to pen a poem (?) within 15 minutes. The title is Polo’s. Here it goes:

Bride Red

And then was born the bride
The one whose beauty swept away
Men of realms far and wide,
And Tyndareus failed to keep her away
From Paris’s roving eyes,

With that shudder of force, the gods unleashed
The dogs of war in the ancient times
O Fleeting Beauty! It’s a joy when you flourished.
But you’re ugly! For you turn men to crimes
When you are won or lost in prize.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “An attempt at poetry

  1. Paulami

    October 6, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    Way to go !!

     

Leave a Reply

 
